PESHAWAR—  A petition has been filed before the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday seeking disqualification Pashtun Takhfuz Tehreek leaders and members’ national assembly Mohsin Dawar and Ali Wazir.

Ali Wazir and Mohsin Dawar are elected MNAs from South and North Waziristan respectively.

The application for disqualification of the MNAs was submitted by former chairman of the Democratic Party of Pakistan Fatehyab Khalid.

The applicant claimed that MNAs Ali Wazir and Mohsin Dawar were involved in anti-state activities and violated their oath, therefore, they should be disqualified. The ECP was also requested to impose ban on political activities of the two lawmakers.

Both the lawmakers are in jail. Ali Wazir was arrested on May 22 and Mohsin on May 30 following a clash between PTM workers and security forces in the North Waziristan in which, according to officials, more than 13 people including a solider were killed and around 30 others were injured.

Sajjad Ali
Sajjad Ali is the founder of Peshawar Today. He is a journalist by profession and working in field for the last ten years. Previously he worked for national media organizations including ‘The Nation’ Daily Pakistan Today, Khyber News. He also worked in media development sector. He can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here